Understanding Georgia Abortion Law
If you’re considering getting an abortion in Georgia, it’s important to know what the state requires of you. Allow us to explain Georgia abortion law and how to navigate this uncertain time.
A Patient Must Have State-Directed Counseling
Before having an abortion, the patient must have state-directed counseling about what an abortion entails and other options that are available. After the counseling session is finished, the patient must wait 24 hours before having an abortion.
A Minor’s Parents Must Be Notified
If you are under the age of 18, your parent must be notified before an abortion takes place. The friendly team at Women’s Clinic of Atlanta can talk to you about how to have this conversation and provide other informational resources about your options.
Public Funding is Available for Specific Cases
Public funding is available if your pregnancy occurred due to rape or incest, or if this pregnancy endangers your life. Other reasons such as the pregnancy being unwanted will not be paid for through public funding.
An Abortion Must Occur Before 20 Weeks Gestational Age
It’s believed in the medical community that a fetus can feel pain after 20 weeks gestational age. Therefore, an abortion must take place before the fetus reaches the 20-week point. There are exceptions to this rule – the mother’s life is in danger due to this pregnancy or the fetus has been diagnosed with a fatal condition.
The Women’s Clinic of Atlanta Team Can Help
If you’re considering having an abortion and want to know your options, our team can help. We will gladly discuss your options, be a sounding board, and – most importantly – be an objective third party to guide you through this time. Don’t hesitate to reach out to our team in Johns Creek (404-937-3334) or Decatur (404-377-6640). We are here for you!